Next Adventure Announced- High Hopes Hike!!

So I’ve been waiting to announce this adventure for a while, as we booked it in January! On the 27th May I will be taking part in the High Hopes Hike in The Scottish Highlands. A 13 mile hike has been organised to raise money for Bloodwise, a Leukemia research charity. I found out about the hike through the My Peak Challenge initiative started by Sam Heughan- more on this initiative later in separate posts.

While I lived in Glagsow for 4 years during my undergraduate degree, I only really ventured through to Edinburgh and the East and West coastlines (unapologetic surfer) so I am super excited to get to venture a bit inland and see some hills! We will be starting at The Bridge of Orchy to Kings House, Glencoe, Scotland, including a total assent of 1788 feet.

We have been going for local hikes when possible and working up from 4 miles (well…5 miles as we kept getting lost!) to 6 the other day and I’m aiming for a longer walk this weekend. Bedfordshire is pretty flat unfortunately so I think the ascents will be our week point!  All this is in aid of a fabulous charity – https://bloodwise.org.uk/ and I’m hoping that this will spur us up the hills! More to follow as we prep for the challenge!

Cheers,

The Budget Explorer

Leave a Reply

